FreeNAS running slow, high CPU & HDD usage and I have no idea why

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffmnelson

Dabbler
I'm very new to FreeNAS. I have a server setup and running configured with Plex Media Server & SMB sharing. Every so often the server runs very slowly for a few days and then it's fine. When it's running slow the HDD & CPU usage are pretty much constantly at 100% but I have no idea how to check what's chewing through the resources. Also, the HDD light on the machine is just lit constantly as well when it's running slowly. I'm sorry for my ignorance and I'd be open to anything anyone has to suggest.

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser

jeffmnelson

Dabbler
Exact Parallel. Good call. I'm scrubbing my main raid monthly around the same time as the slow down. The raid is a 5 x 6TB ZFS. The scrub seems to take days though. Is that normal? During this time, the server is pretty much unusable. Is there anything I can do to help this? Do I need to run the scrub monthly?

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser
Which FreeNAS version are you running? In FreeNAS 11.1 ZFS scrubbing/resilvering was improved substantially. Which other hardware components (motherboard, CPU, memory, HBA, ...)?

The improvements in 11.1 together with a scrub schedule to run it over the weekend (or whichever time might be convenient) might help. Running a scrub two times per months seems to be rather usual among forum participants.

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser
One more question: Are you seeing some swap usage during/after each scrub?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
How full is your storage pool? The scrub only goes over the data, not the free-space, so the more data you have, the longer the scrub will take.