FreeNAS or Windows ? ( Plex server, VM, Storage, Timemachine )

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nikkelmann

Cadet
Hello all.

After browsing the forums for quite some time, i can't find a good answer to my questions.
I hope someone can help me :)

FreeNAS 11 or just use Windows 10 with shared folders?

At the moment i'm using a WD My cloud Mirror gen 1 NAS system, but its very slow so Plex server app is a no go.

I'm about to buy a new gaming PC, so my old one wich are running a Plex server in windows 10 Pro could be my new NAS / plex server

My needs.
Plex Server Often 3 streams at one time ( on my own network ).
Storage ( NAS ).
Time machine backup. ( Would not be easy to set up on Windows 10, without some workarounds )
Maybe Owncloud.

Windows 10 pro, RDP or Teamviewer. I know that it needs to be in a VM. ( I'm a small business owner, and sometimes i need to login to my own machine to do client stuff, as my day job really love to block stuff :) ) The windows 10 VM would have to run almost 24/7, i would not want to turn it on and off all the time, but it would not be used much and when in use the tasks will be small, like doing a bit of work in Wordpress or do some coding.

My hardware for this will be.

CPU - Intel i5-4690k.
Motherboard - MSI z97M-G43.
Ram - Kingston DDR3 HyperX Beast 16GB.
SSD - Crucial MX300 M.2 ( Would be for VM’s )
2x WD red 4TB.
And a USB 16 or 32GB to run FreeNAS Should this be USB 2 or 3 ?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
FreeNAS 11 or just use Windows 10 with shared folders?
Windows support for ZFS is still in the experimental stage. Is your desire for ZFS to protect your data or just to have a Plex server.
If you don't care about ZFS, you may as well stick to Windows.

Nikkelmann

Cadet
Windows support for ZFS is still in the experimental stage. Is your desire for ZFS to protect your data or just to have a Plex server.
If you don't care about ZFS, you may as well stick to Windows.

Thanks for the fast reply.