FreeNas Not Seeing All Drives

Status
Not open for further replies.

cknott2243

Cadet
I am new to FreeNas so this is my first install. I have a system with a Perc h200i card but no RAID is done. FreeNas for some reason does not see one drive. It shows all others except for one 450GB SAS drive. I have read a few posts about upgrading the FW from the IR version to the IT version which I did but still the same issue.

Does anyone have any idea on what could cause this? I am replacing the card anyways with just a SBS HBA 6GB/s card hoping this might change something.

All ideas welcome and appreciated. On another note, how would you compare FreeNas and Nexenta. I really like the features I get with FreeNas that are not there with the community version of Nexenta but it looks as though there are a lot of posts and benchmarks on the net stating Nexenta has superior performance. Just wondering what the FreeNas community thinks of the performance.

Thanks.

Kimba

Dabbler
The benchmarks I saw were rather old (pre FreeNas 8.0.1) so I cannot say one way or another. What I can say is that I have been using FreeNas for several years and I really like it. I get about 40-70 MBS read/write on my two RaidZ pools it is easy to manage and if I feel in a Geeky mood I can go to town with it. Most importantly it is extremely robust and and that has a value that cannot be bench marked. I have done everything from replaced every drive in a pool to upgrade it, swapped out a mother board, moved a pool and no problems.

cknott2243

Cadet
Thanks for the reply Kimba. I am looking forward to really testing it, I just need to get past this odd issue with it not recognizing all the drives. Anyone else have any ideas on what else I can look at?

Thanks.

Kimba

Dabbler
I had a problem a while back of bad cables (imagine that a bad Sata cable) so when I replaced it -- magically it worked.

cknott2243

Cadet