FreeNAS adopter leaving NexentaStor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

My name is Jurriaan and I am from the Netherlands. I am not new to ZFS but I am (sort of) to FreeNAS. I work as a storage expert in Amsterdam storing a lot of petabytes on tape (Tape is very much alive!). So I have some storage expertise and affinity and like to think that I know what I'm doing.

I have two NASes, one of which already running ZFS. The ZFS NAS is based on NexentaStor CE. I did some tests a couple of years ago with several ZFS operating systems (one of which being FreeNAS, don't remember the version) and found NexentaStor the fastest. My other NAS is a QNAP which is now 7 years old and is in need of replacement.

Now that Nexenta has released it's new and improved version 5 of NexentaStor the Community Edition restrictions are changed. The allowed capacity has gone down and I read somewhere that the new NexentaFusion GUI is only allowed to manage one NAS for the Community Edition. Since I wanted to replace my old QNAP I am turning away from Nexenta at the moment. Ans not only for my new NAS. I want to convert my existing NexentaStor NAS to FreeNAS as well. I have read the the performance of FreeNAS has improved. Besides that I get the impression that the community is more active than the Nexenta one.

But that is enough bashing. My existing ZFS NAS is based on a Xeon E3-1265L V2 (Low power, ECC support) on a mini-ITX board. It has 16GB of ECC memory (max :-( ) and 2 GE interfaces. I have 6x 3TB WD red disks (RAIDZ2) for data and 2x 32GB SSD (mirrored) for the OS. The case is a 8 disk hot-swappable one so I can also swap my OS disks while running. The disks are connected to an IBM M1015 (IT flashed) and evenly distributed over the interfaces (1 OS, 3 data over two SFF 8087 intefaces). Just to make sure the load is distributed.