FreeNAS 11.1 possible memory leak

Status
Not open for further replies.

cepa

Cadet
Hi All,

first of all, I would like to thank iXsystems guys and FreeBSD team for amazing piece of software FreeNAS is. I've been using it for more than 5 years and always been happy with stability and feature set FreeNAS offers.

Recently, decided to restore my server lab used for development and devops muscle training and rebuilt the primary storage server that exposes NFS to four VM hypervisors. Details are listed below, to keep it short, it is a 8x HDD Stripe-Mirror with single SSD divided into ZIL and L2ARC and Swap, Xeon, 16GB ECC, networking over bonded 4x 1Gbe using LACP.
Soon after setting it up, I've noticed the system hangs unexpectedly without printing any output neither in console nor in any logs, here's what happened:

1. Initial setup, 8x HDD stripe mirror + Intel 520 SSD, 8GB ZIL, 196GB L2ARC, no swap, LACP + jumbo frames, default tunables - system freezed in couple of hours, initially responsive to ping, but impossible to log into SSH, seemed like stuck on IO. Before it happened, noticed relatively high CPU usage on System and IRQ.
2. Thought it might be SSD, so replaced it with Intel 320 SSD, left 8GB, 128GB L2ARC, no swap, LACP + jumbo frames, default tunables - again system freezed without crashing in couple of hours.
3. Suspected Jumbo Frames to be the culprit, so reverted back to 1500 MTU - system freezed again but after a longer time.
4. Had an L2ARC hunch, set it in tunables to 12GB and increased l2arc_write_max and l2arc_write_boost to 128MB - system freezed again but this time worked even longer, more than 24 hours, although I wasn't doing any load tests in meanwhile.
5. Finally noticed there is no swap (lol) so I added 16GB parition on the SSD and swapon'ed it - system freezed but again after more than a day, noticed FreeNAS started swapping soon before crashing.