First TrueNAS build - Request advice/comments

Hello,

Super TrueNAS noob here, but not IT noob.

So I currently have a "server" (running Windows 10), that I've filled up and have decided to do a new build, with TrueNAS (probably Scale). I've already started down the path of parts, I did buy a 45 Drives Q30 with ATX PSU (I looked around for a new chassis for a good 8 months before selecting it). I have an LSI 9305-24i (bought forever ago). I currently only use it for PLEX, I'd like to do more with the new build. I know this is probably a very over ambitious build, that will be overkill for most of what I currently.

Current build:
Asus X299-WS board
Intel i9-7900X
128gb DDR4 2666 unbuffered
RTX 4000 (will be reused in new build)
2x RAID 6 Arrays on an LSI 9211-8i
-4x 10TB WD Red (SMR)
-4x 8TB WD Red (SMR)
An Intel Optane 930 u.2 for caching meta data (might be reused in new build)
Sea sonic 1000kw prime titanium (will be reused in new build)

New build:
Either:
-ASRock Rack EPC621D8A
-SuperMicro X11SPI-TF
Intel Xeon Scalable
Either Silver 4116 or Gold 6126
128gb of ECC Registered or LRDIMM (Depends on how much my total will be)
Some form of RAID 1 SSD for TrueNAS OS
m.2 to u.2 for Intel 903 as a L2ARC (still don't understand SLOG/L2ARC)
15x Seagate EXOS 12TB or 14TB drives (depends one the deals at the time, pricing between 10,12,14TB is close)

Planned to do a RAIDZ2 setup
RAID ZFS Calculator
This is where I get lost-
With a RAIDZ2 pool I was thinking 2 VDEVs - 6 Drives each VDEV. With 1-3 ready spares? Do I need Hot spares, like I would with a RAID 6 array?

I've done lots of reading on VDEV's and pools, I'm trying to setup a simple server at work (just needs a cheap HBA), to play and learn on.

artlessknave

Wizard
Some form of RAID 1 SSD for TrueNAS OS
what does "some form of RAID 1 SSD" mean? SSD's aren't RAID.
zfs doesn't have "RAID1", because zfs is not RAID. the ZFS equivalent is mirrors.