SOLVED First FreeNAS build for: PLEX, Media storage and more

zdesigns

Dabbler
Hi I am new to the FreeNAS scene and would like to get some feedback on what I plan to purchase.

Things to take into cosideration when reading:
1. I am on kind of a budget, so there will be some compromises
2. Prices on some products are much higher in Denmark where i live (example. a e5-2680v3 costs about 2.230 USD)
3. There is not that good of a used market in Denmark and importing from US or other countries outside of EU is expensive.
4. It has to be low power cost
5. Has to be somewhat quiet

This is the build I am planning:
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1240 V6
MB: Supermicro X11SSM-F
RAM: 1 x Samsung DDR4-2400 REG/ECC SC 16GB
Boot Drive: Intel SSD D3-S4510 240GB
Storage: 6 x WD Red NAS 4TB
PSU: Seasonic Focus Plus 550 Gold
Case: Fractal Design Define R6 or Fractal Design Node 804 (Have not decided yet)

I still need a good CPU cooler/heatsink, any recommendations?
I also see that many people buy LSI controllers, will this be benefitial for my setup/usecase?
Regarding the storage, i am currently not sure what raid to go with, so if anyone has recommendation or advice please let me know. (The storage will be expanded in the future)
If you have recommendations for other hardware, please let me know

Will the described build be able to run:
- PLEX server (2-3 streams at max, mostly not transcoding)
- Media Storage (Photos and 4K Video i shoot with my sony A7III)
- Some VM- or Docker enviroment, that will be used for small webserver and other projects.

anmnz

Patron
Seems an OK build for the described usage.

Assuming the CPU comes with a cooler, the stock one will work fine.

The motherboard has 8 SATA ports. Seems enough for what you are planning. You can upgrade to an LSI HBA later if you need more.

Your boot drive is bigger than it needs to be.