First DYI Truenas SCALE build

stand

Dabbler
Hi all,

it is my first time posting here, but I have been reading the forums for a while.

For the past 6 years I have owned a Synology NAS. However, it is getting quite old and my needs have expanded beyond its or any other reasonably priced Synology product capabilities. With the first RC SCALE build around the corner I figured it is a good time to start planning my first Truenas SCALE build.

First things first - I am situated in the UK, so keep that in mind.

Highlight of what I am looking for:
- Start small, 4-6 HDD disks
- Start as inexpensive as possible, but still meet my initial goals and allow room for upgradability in the future
- Ability to expand to up to 16+ disks (including SSDs for app storage, VMs)
- As lower power as possible (at least when idle), but still powerful enough for all my needs

What it will be used for:
- Media streaming with transcoding on the fly (Jellyfin)
- FIle storage (Nextcloud)
- VMs (virtual desktop primarily, but an ability to play games with an additional external GPU may be considered in a future expansion)

I have been reading up on ZFS for the past few months and I think I have a relatively good idea of its 'quirks and features' as one might say.
Here is a part list for the initial buy:
- Case: X-Case RM424 Pro- V2 24 Bay Hotswap Storage Server Case 12Gb backplane
- CPU: Intel Xeon W-1290T (10 core, 20 thread, iGPU, 35W)
- Motherboard: Asrock Rack W480D4U
- RAM: Any reasonably priced ECC DDR4, 2400+ MHz, (2 x 32GB)
- PSU: Any reasonably priced PSU, 500+ W, Gold or above
- 8643- SATA Reversed (x2)
- Seagate EXOS enterprise HDDs (the more capacity per HDD and the more HDDs I can afford the better)
- Boot disk: Cheapest Kingston 120ish GB SSD I can find
- Other miscellaneous (CPU cooler, CPU paste, etc)

Rational and notes: