First Build Questions/Needs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Camaro192

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I'm new to building a NAS, but I've been building my own computers for many years now. I built a HTPC a couple of years ago and I'm now maxing out that 3TB hard drive. My "main" PC is also maxing out on space (mostly pictures, music, programs, and various downloads) so I'm wondering if it's time to spring for a NAS.
My uses:
  • HTPC is a Kodi front end with Windows 7 backend. I record a bunch of shows and then use MCEBuddy to delete the commercials and convert to MKV files. Though for shows that I intend to keep, I'm currently transferring the recordings to my main PC then manually removing the commercials, converting to MKV, then transferring back to the HTPC. Most of the hard drive is split between the recordings, the converted TV shows, and DVD/Bluray backups.
  • Main PC is largely pictures (RAW files add up quickly), media files, a bunch of programs, GoPro video files, and phone backups. I'd like to use the NAS for backing up things like my pictures, phone backups, and media files. I already use an external hard drive that I keep at my in-laws house as an off-site backup (I update the files on it every month or so).
I don't know if I even need a NAS or if I should just add a 4TB to each of the PCs, but I like the flexibility a NAS seems to provide. I'd be considering 4 x 4TB (WD Reds) with ZFS (RAID1). Since this only feels borderline necessary for me, I don't really want to spend a ton on the build (I would like to update my main PC sometime soon as well).

Some of the build options I've read about on the forums that I'm considering:
  • Supermicro X10SLL-F with i3-4130, Crucial 16GB ECC RAM (2 x 8GB), SeaSonic 360W PSU, Fractal Design Node 804, and probably a 16GB Flash Drive for the OS, or a cheap SSD if needed. Side note: can I use this as a headless server with this MB? That would be great if I can.