First build FreeNAS / Plex Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ed A

Cadet
Hi FreeNAS Forum. This is my first post, but I have been poking around here for a couple of months.

I've been researching hardware ideas for building a FreeNAS / Plex Server and I've read a "wealth" of information here on the forums. Thanks for that. I've put together a final list from about 5 lists that I created, from bare-bones NAS to something just outside of my comfortable price range. If anyone could comment and or educate me, I'd be grateful.

My minimum requirements are:
- I plan to convert miniDV tapes of family stuff.
- I plan to rip and store dozens and likely hundreds of DVD/BluRay discs.
- at least 4TB available storage to start.
- be able to transcode on the fly.
- stream HD to at least two devices, which may not be computer based at a time (network enabled. TV for example). Computer based devices will likely use XBMC or Plex client.
- will likely run some other services (Samba, etc).
- Stay in the $1000 or less range.
- Will run the latest version of FreeNAS.