so i am new to this and i need to build a good server for 20-30 people to use
i was thinking about using the intel z170 platform with an i3 6100
i want z170 due to the RAID tecnlogy
This is what i need for this build
-24/7 on, will not be working 24/7 but i need it to be on all time
-20-30 usage
-Fast speed since it can be uses by 25 people at the same time
-i am not sure if i want to use WD RED or Purple HArd drives

do you think a z170 8GB RAm and a core i3 6100 will be enought for this to work?
i am planing in probably 4TB of storage in a single drive or if i can use 4 WB 1TB drives for this i will be doing a raid 10

hope you guys can help me =) have a niuce day and thank you for your time

CraigD

Patron

Attachments

• freenas.jpg
    freenas.jpg
    217.8 KB · Views: 365

Arwen

MVP
Basically, ZFS does the RAID. Using ANY external hardware RAID is not recommended. Thus, your comment
about "i want z170 due to the RAID tecnlogy" needs some reading by you to understand why it's not recommended.

Further, your comment about "i am not sure if i want to use WD RED or Purple HArd drives" also indicates that
you don't yet understand that NAS drives are different from surveillance uses. Meaning Reds are designed for
mixed reads and writes, while surveillance drives are write mostly.

Last, a single 4TB drive gives you zero redundancy. Many times acceptable for CERTAIN uses. But most people
who come to research FreeNAS want some redundancy. Using 4 x 1TB in a RAID-10 again is not supported by
ZFS, (we call the equivalent stripped Mirrored vDevs).

One comment. When I do planning for a server, is to include expansion options for 3 years. That does not mean
I should buy it all up front. But, filling all the memory slots, PCIe slots and disk slots from the beginning means
you did not plan on any expansion or improvement. Unless you plan on removing existing hardware to replace
with newer or larger, (like larger DIMMs or disks).

Spearfoot

He of the long foot