First Build, advice on components

Status
Not open for further replies.

bryce

Explorer
I'm building my first server with actual server components so need a bit of advice and how to keep costs down just a bit.

What I have right now is the following:

CPU: i7-4770k - currently have just sitting here
MOBO: SuperMicro MBD-X10SAE-O
RAM: Crucial 16gb (2x8gb) DDR3 1600 ECC Unbuffered
PSU: Cooler Master SilentPro 1200W Gold Certified
HDDs: WD Red 4TB x 7
CASE: ARK-4U-500-CA

Does this look like a solid build, anywhere I could save money on to make up for in hard drives or what? Are SuperMicro boards any good seeing how I've never used them before?

Also, would it be possible to setup FreeNAS so that I can start with two 4tb drives and just expand as I need to? Was thinking about a RAID6 or 10 and just starting with the bare minimum amount of drives I needed since that's going to take a while to buy all the drives to fill the sata ports on the board. Or do I need to actually setup the raid with all the drives I will have in it to start with?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
i7s do not support ECC RAM, so that CPU won't go. The PSU is also really high on wattage. A 600w PSU would even be oversized.

I can't directly argue for/against that case, but considering the brand you are buying bottom of the barrel in terms of quality. I wouldn't buy the expensive hardware you are buying and then go with a case that crappy. But that's just my opinion.

danb35

Hall of Famer