fan failed

Status
Not open for further replies.

tlachau

Cadet
I'm new to FreeNAS, and am trying to see if I can get some help getting more detail on this alert message, and gui alert
Code:
145709 (boot + 26s/ENCL/CRIT) - Enclosure PD 0a(c Port 0 - 3/p1) fan 1 failed
145713 (boot + 26s/ENCL/CRIT) - Enclosure PD 0a(c Port 0 - 3/p1) fan 3 failed
145711 (boot + 26s/ENCL/CRIT) - Enclosure PD 0a(c Port 0 - 3/p1) fan 2 failed

The red alert also shows this from the web page.
Code:
The boot volume state is ONLINE: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data corruption. Applications may be affected.

Wondering what I might need to do here to troubleshoot further.

Here is the result of zpool status -v
Code:
errors: No known data errors													

pool: freenas-boot															
 state: ONLINE																
status: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data		
	   corruption.  Applications may be affected.							
action: Restore the file in question if possible.  Otherwise restore the		
	   entire pool from backup.												
   see: http://illumos.org/msg/ZFS-8000-8A									
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0h5m with 1 errors on Thu Jan 25 03:50:43 2018	
config:																		

NAME		STATE	 READ WRITE CKSUM								
	   freenas-boot  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0								
		 da0p2	 ONLINE	   0	 0	 0								

errors: Permanent errors have been detected in the following files:			

freenas-boot/ROOT/default@2015-09-16-10:47:51:/usr/local/lib/libicudata.
so.53.1

Last edited by a moderator:

tvsjr

Guru
Those appear to be two separate errors, although one may be linked to the other. The first error indicates the failure of three fans in the enclosure (assuming BSD is interpreting everything properly). The second indicates a critical error on your pool, leading to damaged data. I hope you have a backup. I say the two may be linked as, if 3 fans failed at once, that may have led to a very high temperature condition that has damaged drives.