Exos x10 issues(Might have resolved)

taylortek

Cadet
Hi All, I recently picked up 10 Seagate Exos x10 SAS drives and am having issues adding them to a pool in my truenas scale box.
When I went to add 4 of them to a raid-z2 it gets stuck on fetching.

I also got this notification

Disk(s): sda, sdc, sdd, sdb are formatted with Data Integrity Feature (DIF) which is unsupported.​

Now I did some research and found this article
--> T10-Pi
So I checked my sda drive and it showed Protection type 2 but not 520-sectors
I ran the "sg_format -v -F /dev/sda" to remove it and its taken 2 days!
When it was done I did the same to sdb and its gonna take another two days..
I should have checked sda to see if it indeed removed it but I didn't lol

So my question mainly is am i going in the right direction and is this normal for it to take this long?
I've never heard of this before and I'm fairly new to Truenas as my main box is Unraid.

joeschmuck

Old Man
I ran the "sg_format -v -F /dev/sda" to remove it and its taken 2 days!
When it was done I did the same to sdb and its gonna take another two days..
I should have checked sda to see if it indeed removed it but I didn't lol
Yes, check first. Did you know that you can open more instances of SSH for the same user? I open SSH sometimes two instances of root and I will be doing two different things. My point here is you could be formatting multiple drives at the same time if desired. I thin TMUX does something similar but I've never used it.

Whattteva

Wizard
I thin TMUX does something similar but I've never used it.