SOLVED Ex-FreeNAS hard drives not showing full capacity in Windows

Status
Not open for further replies.

wogggieee

Dabbler
I have 4 3TB hard drives that I had used in a FreeNAS pool until I upgraded those. I want to use these hard drives in other computers. I've connected them to multiple windows machines and they only show them as having 746GB. I've tried doing a number of things suggested from googling like making it a GPT partition and using Diskpart and nothing seems to work on any of these drives. How would I go about getting the full space?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
3TB hard drives
Sorry to hear that you are having some difficulty. I have been using FreeNAS since 2011 and have not seen anything like what you are describing despite having used several hundred drives with FreeNAS. I have a server at work that is running 80 drives and another that is running 60 drives in addition to my server at home that is running 48 drives. I am not exaggerating at all.
If these drives were sitting un-used for a period of time after being removed from the NAS, it is possible that they suffered some kind of failure.
FreeNAS does nothing to the drive other than partition and format it, just like any other operating system. I have taken dozens of drives that were removed from FreeNAS systems and used them for other purposes including installing Windows on them to use them as boot drives. There is absolutely nothing about what FreeNAS does to the drive that is in any way unusual and nothing about it should leave a lasting impression on the drive. What ever the problem is, it has nothing to do with FreeNAS.

wogggieee

Dabbler
They've only been sitting for about a week. Each of the four drives have had the same issue. Not sure what to make of that.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
You might try using DBAN to wipe them.

wblock

Documentation Engineer