Drives being removed and then cleared.

zerothaught

Dabbler
Hello Everyone,

I am quite new to TrueNAS, so excuse me if this is a dumb question, but I couldn't seem to find any existing threads that covered what I am experiencing. I am currently running TrueNAS Scale on a Storinator Q30.

OS Version:TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.3.2
Product:Q30
Model:Intel(R) Xeon(R) Bronze 3204 CPU @ 1.90GHz
Memory:125 GiB
3 x RAIDZ2 | 10 wide | 16.37 TiB
Drive Model: ST18000NM000J-2TV103 x30

I woke up today to the following alerts from my TrueNAS system:

• Pool Storinator state is DEGRADED: One or more devices has been removed by the administrator. Sufficient replicas exist for the pool to continue functioning in a degraded state.
The following devices are not healthy:

o Disk ST18000NM000J-2TV103 ZR5D35C0 is REMOVED
o Disk ST18000NM000J-2TV103 ZR5D4FD9 is REMOVED

About 1 minute after the alert I recieved another emails saying that the alert was cleared.

Then another minute later I got another alert for one of the same disks:

• Pool Storinator state is DEGRADED: One or more devices has been removed by the administrator. Sufficient replicas exist for the pool to continue functioning in a degraded state.
The following devices are not healthy:
o Disk ST18000NM000J-2TV103 ZR5D35C0 is REMOVED

Then finally I got this email:

• Pool Storinator state is ONLINE: One or more devices is currently being resilvered. The pool will continue to function, possibly in a degraded state.

Upon looking at the dashboard, it shows that I have 0 disks with errors and that my pool is online.

I did a bit more digging and ran a dmesg command and saw the following errors:

Disk failure on sd01, disabling devices
md/raid1:md122: Operation continuuing on 1 devices
blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sdo, sector 19604053776 op 0x11:(WRITE) flags 0x700 phys_seg 15 prio class 0

blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sde, sector 1920752848 op 0x0: (READ) flags 0x0 phys_seg 1 prio class 0