Direct Attached Storage: what would I need for it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kitonowo

Cadet
Hi,

I'm a total noob when it comes to "enterprise" (dc) hardware and peripherals. So I know that I want to extend my NAS capacity, and I could install one of those fancy LSI controllers. There's no space inside anymore, that's why I'm looking for an external solution. From the SAS basics thread, I take one cable feeds two SATA disks... but the controller 9200-8E has two outputs, and I'm still not sure how enclosures work (do they have multiple inputs?) and if they are available in non-rack variants (I don't have a rack installation and don't plan for one) - and of course, the price tag.

Can you help me out?

Dice

Wizard

kitonowo

Cadet
use case? I have a 4 bay HP micro (gen8), which I consider too small. But feature wise, it's great, so I want to keep and extend it.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I take one cable feeds two SATA disks...
Not really. You can run 256 drives from a single SAS controller by way of using SAS Expanders. Each of the two ports on the card you mentioned has 4 'lanes' of SAS connectivity. If you just use breakout cables, that would limit you to only connecting 8 drives, on per lane, but you can connect one of those 4 lane interfaces to a SAS expander and run 12, 16 or 24 drives off it and most SAS expanders will allow you to cascade to another SAS expander to continue the process.

We can give you more guidance if you can better describe your situation and where you want to go.

You probably want an "IT-Mode HBA" like this one:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/LSI-9207-8...TA-External-ZFS-JBOD-IT-Mode-HBA/162563989119
It doesn't have to be that exact one, but one like it...

Then you will want a SAS cable like this one:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/External-M...F-8088-Cable-Mini-SAS-26P-3FT-1M/191951449698

to connect from the port on the back of the card to the input on the back of the external enclosure: