Decent rack / chasis and added storage - Moving to more professional level. Need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

antsrealm

Explorer
Hi,

I've been running FreeNas now for a few years and it has worked really well for me. I am now looking at the possibillity of expanding my setup to store backups for work and would like to get it to a more professional level. I'm a bit rusty on the terminology as it has been running pretty well and I havent really touched it for the past few years.

This is what I currently have:-

8 x 3tb western digital drives. Mainly reds as I started with greens and had a few fail.
32gb ECC ram
Supermicro X10SL7 Motherboard
Intel Xeon E3-1231V1
Fractal design R5
Z2 Volume
No cahces
version 9.10 (latest stable)
P20 firmware on SAS 3208 controller

I will need more capacity soon so was considering a second volume / pool of another 8 x 3TB drives in Z2.

The second issue is the chasis. The fractal does a good job but is unprofessional. I don't mind spending a 'reasonable' amount of money and I once bought a second hand supermicro rack mount chasis only to throw it in the bin becuase I could hear the fans running from up stairs.

I can appreciate they are a bit noisy but this was rediculous. If there is a decent rack mount chasis that is moderate on fan noise, please recommend. I'll also need a rack / enclosure to store it in.

In regards to the additional storage how should I handle this as I am currently using 8 of the sata ports on the MB and expect the chasis will use a different connector to a back plane. I am also sick of failed SATA cables as I have had a few of them now and would prefer a more robust back plane. I have an old M1015 card so that could be utilized. Should I get two small chasis that can take 8 drives each or just 1 big one.