BUILD Advice on VFX Studio File Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuxia

Dabbler
Hi guys,
It's time to finally retire our ancient RHEL file server as we're growing and in need of more space. I'm new to FreeNAS so your help is greatly appreciated. Here are the specs:

Chasis: SC846BE16
MB: X9DRE-TF+ 24x DIMM slots + dual port 10GBase-T (changed from: X9DR7-TF+)
CPU: 2x Intel Xeon E5-2637 v2 (changed from: 2x Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2)
RAM: 256gb (16 x 16GB) ECC DDR3 (haven't decided on the model yet)
HBA: ServeRAID M1015 cross-flashed
Storage: 24x 6TB SAS (haven't decided on the model yet)
in 3 x 8 drives Raid-Z2 configuration
Boot Drive: 16GB SATA DOM (changed from 16GB flash drive)
SLOG device: n/a
L2Arc device: (not sure if needed)

Read speed is much more important than write speed as writes are rare (render times are slow). The clients will be mostly Linux NFS with a handful of SMB clients (Windows and OSX machines). NFS mounts will be cached on local SSDs using cachefilesd to minimise load.

I'm also considering disabling the ZIL if it won't cause filesystem corruption cause NFS clients will be mounted using async anyway and data lost due to power loss is not that critical as those lost frames could be re-rendered anytime.

The two 10Gb ports will be connected using LACP to a 10Gb switch. Most of the clients are 1Gb with only a few 10Gb.

1. Is this system balanced and good enough to serve 20-30 clients?
2. Do I benefit from L2Arc in my use case?
3. Is disabling ZIL safe for the file system and do I understand correctly that I don't need it?

As much as I'd love a turnkey system the transport cost to my country will be high and there are budget limits. Please, let me know what you think?

Thanks

Last edited:

rogerh

Guru