Delete cancelled rsync holding files?

Status
Not open for further replies.

silmaril

Cadet
I am new to freenas 9 and was setting up an rsync pull task to migrate data from my old freenas 7 server. After starting the transfer I realized that I had left "Compress" and "Delay Updates" checked. With no clear way to stop the existing rsync task, I terminated it through the console command "killall rsync" and then changed the settings and restarted the rsync pull. It seems to be working okay, but I am concerned that I may have several gigabytes of temp data from the original rsync task in a holding directory somewhere. Does anyone know where this data would be stored and/or how to safely delete it?
Thank you

fracai

Guru
rsync is most likely resuming the transfer, unless you changed the destination directory. It's doubtful that you'll end up with anything incomplete; rsync transfers in place using hidden temp files (prefixed with a "." and a unique extension). To be sure though, you could stop the transfer again and delete the destination directory before starting the transfer again.

Also though, the rsync tasks are meant for keeping something in sync over time, rather than an initial transfer like you're doing. While I can't think of a concrete case where your use will cause a problem you'd be better off running the transfer on your own from the command line.

Are you planning to keep the old server running where you'll need to keep the two in sync? Or will the old server be decommissioned with new files only going to the new server?

silmaril

Cadet
I didn't change the destination directory, but the initial task had "Delay Updates" checked. According to what I've read:
"when checked, the temporary file from each updated file is saved to a holding directory until the end of the transfer, when all transferred files are renamed into place"