Critique my 8-drive FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pheran

Patron
Hello,

I'm new to this forum and to FreeNAS, but I'm a longtime Linux sysadmin and network engineer with PC build experience, so I know the basic technical ropes. The time has come to build some real storage at home - I want to create an 8x4TB system with RAID6/RAIDZ2 (24TB usable). I was considering getting a Synology DS-1815+, but for the nearly $1000 that would cost, it seems that I can build a pretty awesome FreeNAS box. Nothing has been purchased yet except the USB flash drives, which happened to be on sale on Amazon today.

Case: Fractal Define R5 OR Fractal Node 804 (would love to hear opinions on this)
PSU: SeaSonic S12G 450W (open to other suggestions)
Motherboard: Supermicro X10SL7-F
CPU: Intel Core i3 41xx (is there a downside from a Xeon other than less cores?)
Memory: Crucial 32GB DDR3 ECC (2 x CT2KIT102472BD160B)
Boot: 2 x SanDisk Ultra Fit 32GB Flash Drives
Drives: 8 x 4TB HGST NAS (pros/cons vs WD Red?)

The system will be connected to a UPS, I'm trying to make this as bulletproof as possible. As I said, I'm new to FreeNAS so fire away with any suggestions. Thank you!

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Looks good as far as hardware choices go. Depending on usage you may be able to get away with 16GB of RAM. Also do note that you wont have 24TB of usable space. As a general rule of thumb, performance will suffer if you fill your pool past 80% capacity so just keep that in mind when planning your build.

flatterlight

Explorer
I would mix the hdd vendors f.e. HGST and WD.
Does the I3 support ECC memory? If not go with a E3.

flatterlight

Explorer
I 've done it that way to distribute the risk that multiple disks at the same time broke becaueof whatever (serial fault).
You can also mix the sizes, but your vdev would only calculate with the size of the smallest disk.