Can't ping/resolve hostnames inside nextcloud plugin

francisaugusto

Contributor
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
153
Hi there,

I installed the Nextcloud plugin on my Freenas 11.2-RC2.
It works, but whenever I need to initiate some communication from that jail to something on the internet, it can't either ping an ip or resolve a hostname. It does ping the router and other jails, but nothing outside. Other jails work fine.

This is annoying because I need to configure the mail settings for nextcloud, which do need to access the external world.

Any tips on what to check?
 

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
3,630
try pinging an IP address directly on the WAN:
ping 8.8.8.8
should ping Google's global DNS.

If *THAT* works, which I suspect it will, then the problem is almost certain DNS resolution. If the problem is DNS resolution, you'll need to put:
nameserver 8.8.8.8
in your /etc/resolv.conf *in that jail*.
 

francisaugusto

Contributor
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
153
try pinging an IP address directly on the WAN:
ping 8.8.8.8
should ping Google's global DNS.

If *THAT* works, which I suspect it will, then the problem is almost certain DNS resolution. If the problem is DNS resolution, you'll need to put:
nameserver 8.8.8.8
in your /etc/resolv.conf *in that jail*.

Thanks! But no can do:

Code:
root@nextcloud:~ # ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8): 56 data bytes
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host


I have no idea why...
 

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
3,630
Thanks! But no can do:

Code:
root@nextcloud:~ # ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8): 56 data bytes
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host


I have no idea why...
You have no default route. Let's see the output of
Code:
ifconfig
in the jail.
 

francisaugusto

Contributor
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
153
You have no default route. Let's see the output of
Code:
ifconfig
in the jail.

Here it is:

Code:
root@nextcloud:~ # ifconfig
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
		options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
		inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
		inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
		inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
		nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
		groups: lo
epair0b: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		options=8<VLAN_MTU>
		ether 02:ff:60:ba:b5:82
		hwaddr 02:30:10:00:06:0b
		inet 192.168.1.51 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
		nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
		media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
		status: active
		groups: epair
 

francisaugusto

Contributor
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
153
I think I found the problem. It seems that when the jail restart, it gets a different mac address. Since I have bound the mac address to an IP address on the dhcp server, it was preventing the jail to work.
 

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
3,630
In your jail configuration screen, you can set your MAC address permanently.
 
Top