Cannot Update - Update Server cannot be reached

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12
I'm running TrueNAS-12.0-U2.1, and I can't seem to get the updates to work it does not even show train version on it.

this is the error it gives me
"Unable to connect to url https://update-master.ixsystems.com/TrueNAS/trains.txt: Automatic update check failed. Please check system network settings."
 

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,977
The error message tells you whats wrong. Check and fix your network settings.
 

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12
The error message tells you whats wrong. Check and fix your network settings.

Thank you. I never changed the settings on the server before it stoped working but forgot spectrum had replaced the equipment in the office. so had to change the gateway from "192.168.0.1" to "192.168.1.1" on the server
 

Giacomo_W

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
11
I have the same problem, but my gateway is not changed. I do not know where to look next.
The TRUENAS time is about 1 minute behind on my laptop time.
Can that be the issue?
If so, how do I fix that?
 

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12
I have the same problem, but my gateway is not changed. I do not know where to look next.
The TRUENAS time is about 1 minute behind on my laptop time.
Can that be the issue?
If so, how do I fix that?
Has any of the equipment been changed like a router or modem. or has any extra routers been added
 

Giacomo_W

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
11
Has any of the equipment been changed like a router or modem. or has any extra routers been added
The equipment itself is not changed. Connected to the same port of the router.
Wat Is added on another port is a set of 3 datalink M5 AP's. Two of them are connected to the router.

In the mean time I tried to update manually, but that also is no success. Had to reset the root password on the console, but root cannot login via a browser anymore.
Something wrong with the gateway setting I guess, but I do not know what that issue can be.

I know I had better waited and fix the first problem first. But I had some time and gave it try.

I read somewhere that you can roll back the update, but cannot find that thread anymore.
Can you tell me how to do that. Then I can pick it up from there.
 

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12
The equipment itself is not changed. Connected to the same port of the router.
Wat Is added on another port is a set of 3 datalink M5 AP's. Two of them are connected to the router.

In the mean time I tried to update manually, but that also is no success. Had to reset the root password on the console, but root cannot login via a browser anymore.
Something wrong with the gateway setting I guess, but I do not know what that issue can be.

I know I had better waited and fix the first problem first. But I had some time and gave it try.

I read somewhere that you can roll back the update, but cannot find that thread anymore.
Can you tell me how to do that. Then I can pick it up from there.

here's a quote from a user in a different thread.
"I plugged in monitor and keyboard directly into my machine.
When freenas is booted up you can select to go into console.
With the command beadm list you get a list with all available environments and you can activate the one before upgrade with beadm activate"

pulled from thread:
 

Giacomo_W

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
11
This is the thread I was looking for. Thanks a lot @wolfkid.
I am going to try it and will post the results here, but that can take a while.
 

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12

Giacomo_W

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
11
I followed the actions as stated in the thread.
I had to add the name of the environment I wanted to reboot with in casu the name of the previous version of TrueNAS.
From there on everything was set back from TrueNAS-12.0-U3.1 to TrueNAS-12.0-U2.1.
That is now up and running and everything works accept the update.
I get the same error message as before when I click refresh:
20210518 TrueNAS-12.0-U2.1 Errormessage updating.JPG

So now I wonder what causes the system not to start the update.
I checked system network settings and these are correct to my knowledge.
Who can help me with this issue?
 

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12
I followed the actions as stated in the thread.
I had to add the name of the environment I wanted to reboot with in casu the name of the previous version of TrueNAS.
From there on everything was set back from TrueNAS-12.0-U3.1 to TrueNAS-12.0-U2.1.
That is now up and running and everything works accept the update.
I get the same error message as before when I click refresh:
View attachment 47250
So now I wonder what causes the system not to start the update.
I checked system network settings and these are correct to my knowledge.
Who can help me with this issue?
what is your server ip and gateway ip
 

Giacomo_W

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
11
@wolfkid Where can I find those IP addresses? Is there a command in shell or on the console for it?
I am really a newbie and not familiar with Linux.
 

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12
@wolfkid Where can I find those IP addresses? Is there a command in shell or on the console for it?
I am really a newbie and not familiar with Linux.
sorry it took so long to reply
 

Attachments

  • unknown.png
    unknown.png
    118.1 KB · Views: 757
  • unknown2.png
    unknown2.png
    131.4 KB · Views: 781

wolfkid

Dabbler
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
12
@Giacomo_W where you able to get it going again
 

billxsand

Cadet
Joined
Jun 15, 2022
Messages
9
I was working on a bridge and, in the process, disabled DHCP on my network card. Enabled it and the update works again.

Also in the hopes that SEO brings poor souls here, this was the cause and solution to my original problem, "Applications are not running". Good luck everybody!
 
Top