Can you make SMR drives work

shrekfx

Cadet
I'm new to the whole NAS thing and will be building my first here shortly. I currently have some 3-4TB hard drives (which I'm guessing are SMR drives) and a newer Seagate 6TB Barracuda drive, (SMR) As with a lot of new NAS builders out there and I'm one to jump in and start playing with stuff, was not aware of the SMR and CMR drives. I have found that SMR does not play nice on NFS systems. I've tried to do more searching on this, but all I find is regarding the WD Reds that have SMR and the issues with those. But not much other info out there that I can find.

With out dropping a ton of money on new drives right away (wife and kids eat up most of the cash on hand) and use what I currently have, can I do the following?

I have an empty 6TB Seagate that I want to start out with and start moving data from some of my external drives over to this one. When those are empty, I want to add those externals one by one until I get everything moved over (I know I can't just take the filled drive and place it in because it will get cleared when pooled if I am correct.) So in all, I should have at least 4 drives. (Plan on shucking my externals I currently have so not fully sure what they are but guessing they are SMR since they are 3-4TB.)

Thanks for any thoughts. Again, I am going to get CMR drives down the road, but will come slowly.

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
The 3-4TB external drives may be CMR, more likely if they're older models. It's worth shucking them first (or checking to see what expected drives are inside) before making too many negative assumptions.

The challenge I see here is how you will need to organize data to end up with some manner of redundancy in the end. If you have 3 3-4TB drives that are close to full, you're looking at 9-12TB of data. Even if we assumed you use a not-recommended RAIDZ1 you still only end up with 6-8TB of usable space across those three drives once pooled.