Can multiple apps utilize the same GPU?

awil95

Dabbler
I was curious if multiple apps can utilize the same Nvidia GPU? I currently have Plex installed utilizing my Nvidia GTX 1650. I was trying to add Tdarr from truecharts so that I could transcode my entire media library. When I allocated the GPU to it as well the app would never deploy. So I changed the Tdarr app settings so it is not allocating the GPU and the app deployed instantly. I have little to no experience with k8s but from my understanding the plain nvidia-docker2 container, it is able to allocate the gpu to multiple containers. Is this not possible on TrueNAS Scale since it is using Kubernetes?

stavros-k

Patron
Currently there is no support for using same GPU on multiple apps (upstream issue, not iX's).
Also note for tdarr, it's quite tricky to setup (folders and networking related), I have it on my todo list to fix it up a bit in the near future :P

awil95

Dabbler
Currently there is no support for using same GPU on multiple apps (upstream issue, not iX's).
Also note for tdarr, it's quite tricky to setup (folders and networking related), I have it on my todo list to fix it up a bit in the near future :P
Thanks for the response! From what I have read/researched it seems to be an issue with Kubernetes. I might detach my GTX 1650 from my Plex app for awhile so I can use it for Tdarr. I am wanting to convert my entire 5TB media library to H265 to help save space.