Changing folder icons on an SMB share

Dmitchell

Cadet
I am new to TrueNas Storage. I have a system running and I have copied the folders from a USB connected drive over to the NAS. One the USB drive I can change the icon of the folder under customize. Under the NAS storage that option does not appear.
Is this type of thing not possible on the NAS? Is there a permissions issue I have not discovered? Might there be another way to have a folder on the NAS stand out in a unique way from other folders?
Thanks in advance for any help.

I'm going to guess that's a feature of your operating system that's supported by the type of file system you're using. (that's not a super-helpful answer, but we don't know what system and setup you're running on)

Dmitchell

Cadet
I'm going to guess that's a feature of your operating system that's supported by the type of file system you're using. (that's not a super-helpful answer, but we don't know what system and setup you're running on)
I am on Windows 10. I have 6 8tb drives attached using the USB ports. The idea here was to create the NAS and copy the folders and files from Drive H to a file named H Drive on the NAS. That all worked, however this is where I can no longer change the folder Icons. That option is not on the Customize tab on any of the folders on the NAS.
All we really need to do is find a way for some particular folders to stand out from all of the others on the NAS. The Windows route worked for us but if that is not supported so we may be looking for other options.
I was just wondering if this was a permissions issue or the fact that it is network storage that the option no longer works.