SOLVED Can access SMB share root, children invisible and have no permissions. chmod fails.

AdianIV

Dabbler
I have a new TrueNAS Mini XL+ with 32GB of memory running TrueNAS-13.0-U1.1.

I'm much more familiar with Windows systems than Linux/Unix, but I can generally follow instructions and documentation. However, when it comes to Linux/Unix, I have little experience and don't know what I don't know.

Problem
Originally I was able to see the share defined below and all the files I was copying into it from my previous NAS. I had to do some troubleshooting to get my Windows login to connect without an authentication prompt. It was around the time that I got that to work that I noticed that the share was security trimming all of its contents. The cause is almost certainly my fumbling changes to Share/File ACLs to get seamless login to work, though unfortunately I don't have a solid list of what changes I made/backed out. All my changes were done through the TrueNAS UI.

I can create/modify/delete new files and folders, I just can't see the ones that were created previously.

Setup Information
This NAS is currently configured with a single pool named "DataPool" under which there is a single dataset named "Unsorted." Unsorted was configured with a share type of SMB, and the SMB service is running.

A single user that we'll call "bob" has been configured with a primary group of "builtin_users" and no auxiliary groups. Microsoft Account and Samba Authentication are both checked, as are locked and disabled, and home directory is /nonexistent. Email matches that of my Microsoft account, and password also matches the password of my Microsoft account. I am logged into a Windows 10 machine with the associated Microsoft account.
bobConfig.png

I do not have a domain.