SOLVED Building a FreeNAS box for file sharing and storing backups

f4242

Explorer
Hello,

I'm new to FreeNAS, ZFS and FreeBSD, but experimented with Linux sysadmin. I'm looking to build a FreeNAS box. That box will have two uses in an SMB : files sharing for the office and storing backups.

Could you tell me if I'm in the right direction with theses components?

Like you can see with the posted links, I'm buying from Canada. Let me know if you find some components I could swap to lower the bill.

Thanks!

wblock

Documentation Engineer
Almost certainly overkill on the processor, but you don't say what the usage will be like. Some of us have found that replacing the stock Intel fan really doesn't accomplish much.

I don't recall seeing many people using that MSI board, and would choose Supermicro long before anything made by MSI. Many Supermicro boards have built-in video with an ASmedia chipset and so no additional video card is needed.

Link aggregation does not work like most people expect. There is an article on it here... somewhere. Also, Supermicro boards would have Intel gigabit adapters built in.

Power supply seems like it's not of the same level as the rest. Gold is worth it, at least in some brands. I've used a couple of the EVGA G2 models with no complaints, and Seasonic is popular.

baummer

Dabbler
Does your networking equipment (switches/routers) support LACP? If not, I don't think you'll able to setup link aggregation on your NICs.

Stux

MVP
If you're going to go for x99 you should consider an E5-16xx processor. The 2603 is quite slow st single threaded work-loads and this can affect smb.

If you don't need x99/e5 consider a skylake X11 from supermicro board.

f4242

Explorer
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback!

The box will serve a Samba share for about 50 users, host a crashplan server (desktop backups) and a burp server (server/vm backups).

This is my revised components list.

Two notes about this revised list: