First FreeNAS Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

YotaX

Dabbler
Been reading a lot - gathered enough info to put together this build.
A brief history I have been building gaming PC's for over 15 years. This will be my first Server Grade Build.

What I plan to do with the FreeNAS build is going to be to move my Plex Server over - move my Ubuntu Server Backup to a raid Z - host the storage for my nextcloud on raid Z (edited)
I might tinker with VMs / Jails and odds and ends but thats not clear yet.

I think for what I am trying to do and to avoid having to rebuild in the next 4-5 years twin xeon processors > single xeon 10 core tho I could be wrong.
Here is what I have so far :) Let me know what y'all think!

PCPartPicker part list: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/yNZzvn
Price breakdown by merchant: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/yNZzvn/by_merchant/

CPU: Intel - Xeon E5-2670 2.6GHz 8-Core OEM/Tray Processor ($168.00 @ Amazon)
CPU: Intel - Xeon E5-2670 2.6GHz 8-Core OEM/Tray Processor ($168.00 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master - Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master - Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASRock - EP2C602-4L/D16 SSI EEB Dual-CPU LGA2011 Motherboard ($299.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Samsung - 16GB (1 x 16GB) Registered DDR3-1866 Memory ($87.99 @ Amazon)
Video Card: XFX - Radeon RX 580 8GB GTS Black Core Edition Video Card (Purchased For $0.00)
Power Supply: Corsair - HX Platinum 850W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply ($159.99 @ Amazon)
Other: Silverstone Technology CS380B Silverstone DIY ATX NAS Storage Case with Hot Swap Cases ($124.99 @ Amazon)
Other: HGST Deskstar NAS 0S04005 4TB 7200 RPM 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" ($129.73 @ Amazon)
Other: HGST Deskstar NAS 0S04005 4TB 7200 RPM 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" ($123.99 @ Amazon)
Other: HGST Deskstar NAS 0S04005 4TB 7200 RPM 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" ($123.99 @ Amazon)