BUILD Build Help - What can I do with my existing drives?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Soultazer

Cadet
Hi everyone!
I'm very new to FreeNas and I've been reading through the forums to try to gain a good understanding of how to configure my new system.

I currently have an existing server with the following hard drive configuration:
  • 1 TB Western Digital Green (WDC WD10EARS)
  • + (another) 1 TB Western Digital Green (WDC WD10EARS)
  • + 2 TB Western Digital Green (WDC WD20EARX)
  • = 4 TB of space. 3.5TB is currently in use.
When I first built my server many years ago, I didn't really know how to configure the system properly and so I just tacked on the hard drives using JBOD and Windows 7.

I am in the process of researching to build a brand new server (I have read through the Hardware Recommendations thread that was posted by CyberJock) and will be attempting to use as much of the recommended hardware as possible.

I was also looking through the PDF/PPT on the basics of VDEV configurations and I was wondering if you guys have a good idea on how I can configure my hard disks listed above.

I understand that I will need to buy new disks as I am adding redundancy. I will also like to eventually expand the capacity so I will need to configure my VDEV so it is setup properly.

Any ideas?

Thanks everyone! :)

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Yes.

You mentioned you're going through the recommendations thread; can you post some of what you've come up with? The problem with any kind of static reference point like a thread/wiki/PDF is that it risks becoming a little outdated over time as we learn new things, so let's see what you've sorted out.

Also let us know what you want to use this system for; we'll suggest something completely different depending on if you want to build a slow but stable place to warehouse family photos vs a place to host storage for a home-lab ESXi cluster.