build check - 4 node system

Status
Not open for further replies.

mensch90

Cadet
Hello everyone,
im relatively new to freenas and planing on replacing an emc-graded nas (nfs) as a vm-storage since we get crappy usb-stick performance.
Our bandwidth throughput recommendations are not very high - at the moment a simple debian machine with 2 x 1 raid 1(mdadm) width a single gigabit nic satisfied our needs.

Im planning to build a supermicro 4 node system with an identical 4-node-backup-system together with zfs snapshot replication. In an event of a failure i would add the dedicated storage-ip to the backupsystem.
The reason for 4 nodes: splitting the workload onto 4 systems and even the chance of a failure will be splitted onto multiple nodes.

configuration provided by our distributor:
* System: Supermicro 4HE Chassis F424AS-R1K28B with Supermicro X10DRFR board
* CPU per node: 1 x INTEL Xeon E5-2603 V4 1700MHz 15M Cache 6Core
* MEM per node: 2 x 16GB (ECC Registered DDR4 2133)
* OS-STORAGE per node: 2 x Supermicro SATA DOM 32GB mirrored
* VM-STORAGE per node (node 1-3): 8 x 2TB WD Raid-Edition (WD2004FBYZ) - 2 x RAID10 - main data storage for filers etc.
* VM-STORAGE per node (node 4): INTEL SSD 535 Series 240GB 2.5in SATA 6Gb/s - 2 x RAID 10 - storage for databases (iops)
* ETHERNET per node: 2 x Intel® i350-AM2 (82574L) (onboard) - 1 x mgmnt-network, 1 x storage-network (since lcap doesn't double the bandwidth ;))

I think, i don't need any caching ssds or a higher amount of ram for these storage dimensions - am I right about this assumption?
Are there any pitfalls in this configuration?

Thank you in advance!
Kind regards

Dice

Wizard
Welcome to the Forums.

At first glance, the proposed system specs are really unusual as to what 'passes by the forums' as "check my build".
There are a lot going on in this build that might need attention. I'll try to start addressing some points that I find a bit odd.