Basic install question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Figley

Cadet
Greetings,
I am new to FreeNAS and before I undertake the install I have a question or two.
1. I understand that the flash drive contains the op.sys. for NAS. Does that mean that after the install it must remain in the computer in order the machine to run?
2. Once I complete the setup will machine I setup to run FreeNAS only have FreeNAS on it? (I am planning on using a relatively new, but unwanted Windows machine for this project.)
3. Will I be able to access this unit via the internet from other locations or is it specifically designed for those on the actual network to access it?

I realize these are simple questions, but the simple questions are what is holding me back.

Thanks for any help you can offer,
Figley

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Greetings,
I am new to FreeNAS and before I undertake the install I have a question or two.
1. I understand that the flash drive contains the op.sys. for NAS. Does that mean that after the install it must remain in the computer in order the machine to run?
Yes
2. Once I complete the setup will machine I setup to run FreeNAS only have FreeNAS on it? (I am planning on using a relatively new, but unwanted Windows machine for this project.)
Yes unless you install some plugins or other software in jails.
3. Will I be able to access this unit via the internet from other locations or is it specifically designed for those on the actual network to access it?
It's designed as a network file server. It is strongly suggested that you not open the webGUI to the internet. If you MUST access it remotely do it through a VPN.

melloa

Wizard