Some basic questions :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Torleif

Cadet
Hi
I am new to freenas. I have some linux experience, but limited BSD knowlage.

I have a old pentium 4 desktop with 4 drives in it.
I wish to set a NAS.

1: I see it is recommended to run freenas from a usb stick. but how is the speed from usb compared to a hard drive? Is the only reason for not installing on a had drive because it takes the whole drive?

2: I dont plan on having raid, just a simple setup with 4 seperate drives. Can I share one drive with different protocols (NFS and SMB) at the same time? and/or can I just make a folders on a drive and share the different folders with different protocols and so on?

3: The 4 drives I plan to use is already formatted as ext3 and lots of data on them. Do I have to format them or can I use them as they are? If I plan to format to ZSF, what is the best way of transfering old data to another source before transfering it back to freenas? (FTP to an external drive connected to another computer?)

4: I my hardware collapses and I have to take out the drives, what can I use to read ZSF from eks. a windows machine?

5: I use a Android phone and would like to achive like a network cloud like dropbox/google-drive for simplicity, Is this possible with freenas?

6: At work I use windows at home I use linux and XBMC and outside my home I use Android and somtimes Ipad. What is the best share protocol for this invironment?
Can I share different folder on one drive with different protocols (ref. question 2)

7: I see alot of of the "out of the box" NAS solutions like Netgear ReadyNAS Duo V2 uses DLNA. Is this supported in freenas? I dont know a lot about this protocol.

8: I also read about Openmediavault, how is this compared to Freenas?

Thanks for all help :)

ben

FreeNAS GUI Developer
1. The USB stick is rarely if ever touched by the OS; most of the OS is loaded into RAM. Therefore, speed is pretty much irrelevant.