Backup and Archive Strategy

Status
Not open for further replies.

rwslippey

Contributor
Hello everyone,

So I've recently noticed (okay, I've known for a while) that I am a complete digital mess. Files everywhere, you know how it goes.

So I'm taking to reorganizing my files right now and it brings up a question. I'd like some opinions on how you all would handle this.

I'm a photographer (business, but very low volume recently) so I've got RAW files that are used in my Lightroom Catalog (Adobe's digital management application). I obviously don't want anything to ever happen to these files. Up until this point I've kept my "photo library" on my desktop and replicated to my nas nightly. From their it goes to a crashplan server. A thought that recently popped into my head was that I might be going about this wrong. These RAW files will never change. (any edits are actually recorded in the database and used when loading this RAW file, so edits don't change the file at all) So my thoughts are that I should move the files to the nas and start some type of archival workflow.

The main reason I want to start some kind of archival workflow is because I thought if anything ever happens to my desktop (ransom ware mostly) my automated system would propagate all the way through my backup system, making it useless.

So I think I'm going to move the files to the nas and just tell Lightroom where to find them. My question is how would you go about this archival workflow. I'm kind of at a loss on this.

Any reason not to? How would you approach this? Incremental backups instead of a full on crashplan sync (where it could over right my good data with bad?)

Sorry if this doesn't make any sense. I makes sense in my head, but its been a long week.

Thanks

joeschmuck

Old Man