SOLVED 9.3-alpha and lsi 9211-8i: firmware - driver mismatch

Status
Not open for further replies.

FreeNasNewbie

Dabbler
Hi all,
I'm using debian for quite a while (no windows-based machine available), but i'm new to freenas (and freebsd). Please apologize for incomplete or unclear information.

Searching the web and the forum didn't solve my problem. Hopefully you can help.

I'm using an original LSI 9211-8i controller in IT-mode with latest firmware from LSI webpage (Stage 19). Flashing the card was no problem.
I installed 9.3-alpha (FreeNAS-9.3-ALPHA-33aacf0-x64) because the lan controller intel i218v is not supported in 9.2.1.7 (mb is asus sabertooth z97 mark 2).

Now the system boots up fine, LAN works well, also the login via WebGUI. However, an alert told me that "Firmware version 19 does not match driver version 16 for /dev/mps0".

On the lsi webpage I found mpslsi.ko-driver, however stage 9.3 is the only missing one (9.2 and 10.0 exist).
I suppose the use of a non-matching driver (either 9.2 or 10.o) in 9.3 is impossible or not recommended?

My idea then was to downgrade the firmware to P16. This failed, because Installer_P16_for_UEFI was available in the LSI archives. However the 2118it.bin-file for P16 is missing (found just a README-file on the lsi-webpage, not the binary; 9211-8i_Package_P16_IR_IT_Firmware_BIOS_for_MSDOS_Windows seems to be unavailabe).

What can I do? Can I ignore the warning? Suppose, I shouldn' t do. I didn't proceed with the installation. Disks contain no data.

Thanx a million for your advice. FreeNAS is great software and I'd be happy using it.

D

dlavigne

The alert only looks for a version mismatch. The Guide contains instructions for upgrading the driver if it is lower. In your case, you can safely ignore the alert.

cyberjock

Inactive Account