BUILD 24U FreeNAS Build - Your feedback is welcome!

Status
Not open for further replies.

fn369

Explorer
Hello all,

I am very new to the forum, as well as FreeNAS in general, and I must apologise in advance for how long this post has become!

I started out 5 or 6 years ago using various Drobos, then moved on to 2x Synology DS2413+ (12 bay) units (using 1 as a backup) - which I’ve been using for the last 3 years.

Having just suffered major data losses on both Synologys, I decided to use it as an opportunity to upgrade. Suddenly realising how underwhelming Synology's hardware is, I was considering a 16 bay QNAP Enterprise device.

However, it seems that by going the FreeNAS route I could get a lot more hardware for a lot less money, and end up with a more secure NAS to boot, and who doesn’t like that?!

Having spent the past 10 days or so reading through the forums, following links and trying to configure an ideal setup, I have become utterly confused reading through all the different specs on Supermicro's and Intel's websites.

For example, what I’ve seen praised here as ‘a great setup’ often appears not to follow Supermicro's recommended compatibility, and I trust the experts here more than Supermicro when it comes to getting the best out of FreeNAS!

GOALS

This is what I’d like to achieve (includes some future proofing)
  1. Very large Family photo Library
  2. iTunes media library (music / films / TV)
  3. Plex media library (media converted from iTunes, plus more from (8) below)
  4. Plex transcoding up to 9 simultaneous 1080/4k streams to TVs and iOS devices
  5. Sonos music server playing 24/7 in up to 12 zones
  6. nextCloud server for 4-5 people
  7. Backup for 5 computers (Mac / Linux)
  8. SickRage / SABnzbd / Transmission / CouchPotato possible running in a Jail 24/7
Plus virtualisation of up to 6 Linux-based VMs, with the ability to run a couple of them as a day-to-day computer from a dumb terminal via HDMI output if that's possible?

Notes: