Help on a build for a small video production company

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherwoodwf

Cadet
I’ve a few questions about building a FreeNAS, I’ve never done this before but our main goal here is to save costs.

A bit of background on us, we’re a small video production company who have about 15 x 2TB drives that we storage our projects and work off. We use HDD docking bays to work off and it’s just not safe, we had one drive fail and we were stupid not having any backup or redundancy system in place.

I know this system isn’t a backup system it’s just a small step for us to ensure we have a bit more redundancy in place for our storage. I’ve done a lot of research into this and seemed to come up with more questions than answers the more I look into it.

Anyways I’ve got a system in mind after some research which is as follows:

In terms of hard drives I’m torn between 8 x 2TB WD RED drives or 8 x 4TB WD Red Drives. It all depends on how easy it is to expand the storage later on.

I have a few questions and thoughts on this setup and how well/bad it would work?

• Will this set up support our workflow?
  • I’ve read a lot about intel nics and that they are the way to go and this motherboard has 2 of them? Would I need more?
  • Also I’ve read about linking up ports to a switch? Is this really worth it if I’m hooking up 3 machines to these
  • Realistically how fast would it take to copy a 250GB set of files from the NAS to a local machine through ethernet cables? How much would this time go up if we did 2 at once to 2 workstations?
  • Is a switch worth getting for 3 workstations? And what are the benefits for it?
  • I was going for RAIDZ2, if a hard drive failed how long realistically would it take to rebuild? Is it an easy process? Are there certain requirements for the new hard drive to replace it?
  • How easy is it to increase the storage of hard drives? Would I be able to replace 2TB drives to 4TB drives? Or would I need to build a new raid?