BUILD Custom build assesment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lee Davies

Cadet
Hi all,

Whilst I'm no stranger to computer hardware, I am new to FreeNAS and server-specific hardware. I'm still reading forum threads and the Manual, so please bear with me as I learn.

I have already learned from reading that ECC RAM and Supermicro boards are highly recommended; which saved me from ordering a build with neither of those. So I'm already grateful for that!

I've been asked to create a NAS server for our small business (10-15 users, around 3-5 active users who'd be using it more than the rest of us) and, based on my early research, I'm wondering if the below hardware is decent enough.

CPU: Intel Xeon E5-1620v2
Motherboard: Supermicro X9SRH-7F
RAM: Hynix Server Memory 16GB DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Red 3TB SATA
PSU: Silverstone Strider Essential (gold rated)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Cooler: Supermicro SNK-P0050AP4

I was going to get Hybrid SATA drives, but a previous thread told me fast-mechanical drives aren't really designed for servers/NAS. So I've gone for WD Red drives. We definitely can't afford full SSD drives for our needs (5TB and growing) especially as we're implementing RAID1 (I'd prefer to go for RAID6 but costs won't stretch that far, at least initially).

My only worry is that the motherboard would require an extra SATA card when we expand. Nice as SAS drives are, we can't really justify their expense in the short-medium term.

I would very much appreciate an extra set of eyes of this hardware list, to make sure it's (more than) adequate. Thank you!

cyberjock

Inactive Account