19" Racks for home...

Status
Not open for further replies.

rvassar

Guru
Someone brought up the Dell R510/520 in another thread... I had forgotten about these. Not a bad configuration for a home NAS, except for the rack mount. It got me wondering what it would take to build a noise managed 19-inch half-rack for home use, containing no more than 2, 2U servers, a switch or two, and a UPS. Anyone have any thoughts? My primary concern is noise. I have to be able to do an hour or three on the phone at a 5 foot radius from the rack, and work an 8 hour day without going crazy.

I've been a software engineer for the last 20 years... My SysAdmin "hammock between the racks" days are well in the past. Thoughts?

Inxsible

Guru
Build your own like I did using these plans:

https://tombuildsstuff.blogspot.com/2014/02/diy-server-rack-plans.html

I built an open rack since my rack was going to be in a closet and I didn't want to enclose it because I was worried about adequate cooling for my equipment.

You can add a bit of sound proofing in the cabinet to deaden the sound.

Stux

MVP
It is possible to design a rack mounted system to be virtually silent.

rvassar

Guru
Build your own like I did using these plans:

https://tombuildsstuff.blogspot.com/2014/02/diy-server-rack-plans.html

You can add a bit of sound proofing in the cabinet to deaden the sound.

That's almost exactly what I was thinking, except I was pondering full enclosure with some kind of filtered air intake in the bottom, and baffled duct exhaust at the top using 120mm fans. Use carpet in the air ducts and rubber sheet to mount the side panels to dampen the noise radiation thru the wood.

Inxsible

Guru
That's almost exactly what I was thinking, except I was pondering full enclosure with some kind of filtered air intake in the bottom, and baffled duct exhaust at the top using 120mm fans. Use carpet in the air ducts and rubber sheet to mount the side panels to dampen the noise radiation thru the wood.