ZFS Pool status understanding

rahulku

Cadet
Hello. I am new to ZFS. I am trying to understand what the following output is telling me. I think I have figured out that the last disk is not part of the raid. I added it in later.

How can I get more information? Is it possible to take the last disk and make it part of the raidz1?

Code:
  pool: tank
  state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub canceled on Sun Nov 13 06:31:39 2022
config:
        NAME                                            STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        tank                                            ONLINE       0     0     0
          raidz1-0                                      ONLINE       0     0     0
            usb-WD_easystore_264D_4341303248544D4B-0:0  ONLINE       0     0     0
            usb-WD_easystore_264D_4341304B424C324B-0:0  ONLINE       0     0     0
            usb-WD_easystore_264D_4341304B3935344B-0:0  ONLINE       0     0     0
          usb-WD_My_Book_25EE_3753483936324143-0:0      ONLINE       0     0     0
errors: No known data errors

Last edited by a moderator:

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Hello. I am new to ZFS. I am trying to understand what the following output is telling me. I think I have figured out that the last disk is not part of the raid. I added it in later.

How can I get more information? Is it possible to take the last disk and make it part of the raidz1?

Run, don't walk, run over and read

rahulku

Cadet
thanks for the link. I appreciate that. It still does not answer my question as to how i can get more information about that last disk. i cannot remove it since offline says "no valid replicas".

i am trying to understand what/how that disk is being used in the pool.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
It's its own vdev. If that disk fails, your pool fails.
I added it in later.
Yeah, that's a problem, because you can't do what you presumably wanted to do. You can't undo what you did, either. And you ignored the warnings TrueNAS gave you when you tried to do this.