ZFS and backup best practices

dalnew

Dabbler
Hey all, I'm new to TrueNAS and I've just started using TrueNAS Scale, which I'm loving so far. I just built a new custom NAS w/TrueNAS Scale that I am planning on using as my primary NAS going forward (once it's "officially" released and stable). For now it's a test bed for me to understand the intricacies of ZFS and the TrueNAS system. I have been using Synology devices w/BTRFS for a long time now and will continue to use them as my NAS backup strategy. While I am waiting for the official TrueNAS release I would like to start setting up and configuring everything which includes:

- Docker containers for plex, video editing and encoding, software development
- VMs for Windows and other Linux distros
- A multitude of SMB shares for the family (media, backups for PCs, etc)
- Automatic backups from the TrueNAS

The first 3 I feel like I have a pretty good handle on. It's the last one I'm a bit fuzzy on what the best way to handle this would be.

To give you some understanding of the capability of the NAS I threw together:
- AMD 3950 w/128GB DDR4 ram
- 1x 1TB Samsung 980 Pro as the boot device (which seems like a bit of a waste at this point), w/ 7000MB/s (read) and 5000MB/s (write)
- 1x 1TB Sabrent Rocket 4.0 (currently unused) w/3300 MB/s (read) and 3300 MB/s (write)
- 5 zfs datasets on a pool w/1 RAIDZ1 vdev comprised of 4 Seagate x16 16TB drives (each rated for ~261MB/s max sustained transfer rate) which cover media, backups, software development storage, VMs, and scratch/tmp.
- 2x 10Gbe SFP+ NIC

I have tried to optimize each dataset according to its use (disable atime for perf, set recordsize to 1M for media, etc). There are SMB shares that expose these to various family members.