ZFS suitable for strictly rsync-backup purposes?

Hi
I'm a sysadmin and mainly a Linux-person, so I don't have any practical experience with TrueNAS and ZFS.
I like IXSystems and have their hardware running(Linux) in several places. Very pleased with them.
I bought a TrueNas Mini XL+ and WD Red NAS Pro disks to fill up the 8 bays it has.
But the machine comes with TrueNas installed and this version only supports ZFS for the storage system. So my question is:
This machine will only be used for nightly backups, using rsync to backup around 8-10 linux-servers and some other stuff.
Is it a good idea to use ZFS for this purpose? ZFS is rather demanding when it comes to ram and its COW-system in combination with maybe the RAIDZ2 could maybe be overkill for this. Will I be better of just using the old-school Linux-approach?

Danish greetings..

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
I maintain that there are very few situations for which ZFS is unsuitable and that those that remain exist only because of very constrained environments that already implement a minimum feature set in some other way (e.g. embedded systems with checksums for regions of their flash storage and redundant copies).

Fundamentally, ZFS introduces a set of guarantees that no other filesystem offers (btrfs might, were it not a trainwreck):
  • Checksums of everything - bad data is immediately identified
  • Only good data or errors are returned
  • Repairs are automatic and unambiguous (In most cases: some edge cases would need to test an absurd number of combinations to determine what the good data is. In these situations, the error may be treated as uncorrectable.)
  • Scrubs will read everything and allow for errors to be corrected in a timely manner
And that's in addition to quality of life stuff, like:
  • A sane CLI (Which I maintain that LVM and Gluster desperately need above all else)
  • Large feature set for compression, checksumming and encryption
  • Scalability
  • Snapshots
  • Replication
  • etc...