SOLVED Write cache aside from RAM

sidjpr

Dabbler
Hello guys,

I am new to TrueNAS and as far as my research went, there seems to be no way to install an additional SSD write cache. I know, that the RAM is used for this task, but why not also have the possiblitiy to use way larger and cheaper SSDs for that task once RAM cache is full? Sure, they are not nearly as fast as RAM, but still way faster than spinning rust. Am I missing something?
Btw. I know that ZFS LOG devices are a thing, but as far as I unterstood the matter it is only for synchronus writes and can not be treated like a general write cache.

So is there really no way other than increasing RAM size or adding more HDDs to improve write speeds? I am using 6x8TB HDDs in a 3 vdev á 2 mirror layout (Raid10).

Thank you guys, I really want to wrap my head around this.

ChrisRJ

Wizard
Can you describe your workload? It would be interesting to understand where ZFS' way causes you issues.

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Hello,

You're correct here, ZFS has no provisions for a general "SSD write cache" and only does the short-term caching/logging in RAM (and if synchronous writes, to the ZIL)

Increasing RAM and adjusting the tunables will help absorb "larger bursts" of writes, but the pool vdevs have to be able to commit those larger bursts to disk or else it will end up having to apply a write throttle to say "your pool isn't fast enough, please wait" to incoming data.

Unfortunately you can't simply say "write to these large SSDs first and then spool off asynchronously to disk later" - consider investigating something like bcachefs if this is a critical use-case, but make sure you understand the limitations (data placement isn't quite as guaranteed as in ZFS, removing devices still seems to require manually re-replicating metadata before and after, erasure coding isn't ready yet AFAIK)