Win 10 client cannot connect to SMB share

johnswenson1

Cadet
This is my first time with TrueNAS. I just built a Supermicro small server, installed TrueNAS 12, created a pool (Z2). Created a user named servershare, gave it a password. Created a dataset set the owner to servershare. Went through the tutorials set the ACLs to what they said. Created an SMB share following the tutorials.

The Win10 machine sees truenas, when I try and map a drive a popup comes up asking for username and password, type them in, it comes back saying user does not exist.

I looked in the auth_audit.log, servershare is mentioned in there so it looks like windows is sending the name, but there is a status of NT_STATUS_NO_SUCH_USER.

I looked in the etc/passwd and etc/master.passwd and servershare does not show up in either file. Is it supposed to or does truenas use some other way of storing user names? Is the fact that servershare is not in the passwd file the problem?

I've used samba shares in several linux systems before and never had an issue like this.

Anny hints would be appreciated

Thanks,
John S.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
There are three places to check for your new user:

1) our config file. Example query midclt call user.query '[["username", "=", "smbuser"]]'
Code:
root@homenas[~]# midclt call user.query '[["username", "=", "smbuser"]]'
[{"id": 34, "uid": 1000, "username": "smbuser", "unixhash": "<redacted>", "smbhash": "smbuser:1000:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:<redacted>:[U          ]:LCT-5C139A74:", "home": "/mnt/dozer/homes/smbuser", "shell": "/bin/csh", "full_name": "smbuser", "builtin": false, "smb": true, "password_disabled": false, "locked": false, "sudo": false, "microsoft_account": false, "attributes": {}, "email": "smbuser@microsoft.com", "group": {"id": 41, "bsdgrp_gid": 1000, "bsdgrp_group": "smbuser", "bsdgrp_builtin": false, "bsdgrp_sudo": false, "bsdgrp_smb": true}, "groups": [50, 43], "sshpubkey": null, "local": true, "id_type_both": false}]