Whats the biggest freeNAS ever built in terms of drives? and other Q's

Status
Not open for further replies.
As title, whats the largest freeNAS ever built ? in terms of hard drives?

Also I run a freeNAS 8 box with 4 hard drives, although im a total noob at it I managed to get it working, currently running a JBOD as thats what suits my needs (1 large drive no redundancy), is it possible to add more drives and increase the '1 large drive pool' ? Or must i make a new partition ?

thanks, hello everyone btw 1st post :)

sabreofsd

Dabbler
Hmmm, I have a FreeNAS box that is using 12 drives, but FreeNAS sees them as 1 drive since the RAID controller is handling the RAID. I'm guessing there are much larger systems out there though.

ZFSLover

Dabbler
As title, whats the largest freeNAS ever built ? in terms of hard drives?

Also I run a freeNAS 8 box with 4 hard drives, although im a total noob at it I managed to get it working, currently running a JBOD as thats what suits my needs (1 large drive no redundancy), is it possible to add more drives and increase the '1 large drive pool' ? Or must i make a new partition ?

thanks, hello everyone btw 1st post :)

I have it running with 3 x 4U 24HDD JBODS, each JBOD has 24 x 1.5TB SATA HDD's, so that's 72 HDD's, on 9205-E and 9211-4i HBA cards.

It is a replication target for a NFS server.

_Adrian_

Dabbler
I'm just building mine up a bit now...
12 x 2TB WD RE4 7200 SATA drives in each HP MSA20 Dive shelf
Theres a total of 3 MSA20's right now all attached to a Smart Array 6404 with a 512Mb BBWC. Still room for 1 more
FreeNAS Box is a HP DL560 with 4x 3.6GHz Single Core Xeons and 12Gb RAM with 2x 36GB SCSI U320 in RAID0

Hooked up to 2 different Networks
Servers access the NAS through Infiniband ( 4x DDR - 10GB ) and the UI will be on the on-board LAN

cyberjock

Inactive Account
One of my servers has 2 vdevs in 1 zpool, 8x1.5TB on RAIDZ2 and 8x1TB on RAIDZ2.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
It wouldn't matter much at all.