WEBGUI Initial Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamiew123

Dabbler
Hi guys,

I am new to FREENAS gathered lots of tutorials and info but am already stuck.

I was following a guide, successfuly installed FREENAS, and in the guide it said its best to change to static IP as it was 0.0.0.0. So i successfuly changed it to 192.168.1.1. Plugged in ethernet cable from my NAS system to my other comp. Went into Firefox and typed in the address and it cannot find server. I have tried googling etc, but can only find info on webgui problems once people are up and running.

In the guide it simply says, type in address in firefox browser.

I am stumped and wondering if anyone could point me into the right direction.

Much apreciated

EDIT: i installed via CD that burned from the ISO. I have seen USB's mentioned, should i have installed via usb or something?

D

dlavigne

Which Guide?

Is there a DHCP server on the network? If so, don't set a static IP. If it's not picking up an address from the server, you need to troubleshoot why.

jamiew123

Dabbler
oh god i cant remember where it was from now, i have several lol.

And i dnt have a DHCP server on the 'network' i only have the NAS machine and another one i got out just so i could go on the browser to look at the web GUI. I put an ethernet straight from the NAS ethernet port to my second machines ethernet port with the browser. Am i missing something crucial?

bellow where the web URL is stated:

'freenas ntpd_initres[1558]: host name not found : 0.freebsd.pool.ntp.org'

and then this:

'freenas ntpd_initres[1558]: host name not found : 1.freebsd.pool.ntp.org'

'freenas ntpd_initres[1558]: host name not found : 2.freebsd.pool.ntp.org'

and then back to '0'

thanks for your reply

D

dlavigne