Web GUI shell loses session after closing

Status
Not open for further replies.

scurrier

Patron
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNAS, but I found something that seems to be misbehaving. I ran "badblocks -sw /dev/ada2" on my new disk from the web gui shell. Then, after reading this wiki page which says I can do the following and not lose the session, I closed the session using the X and almost immediately tried to open it back up to verify that badblocks was still running. It wasn't. It looked like a fresh session. Here is the text from the wiki page that leads me to believe that I could expect it to stay running:

While you are in Shell, you will not have access to any of the other GUI menus. If you are using Shell for troubleshooting purposes and need to leave the Shell in order to modify a configuration, click the x in the window's upper right corner. The next time you enter Shell, you will return to your last session. When you are finished using Shell, type exit to leave the session completely.

I am running FreeNAS 9.2.0. My browser is Chrome.

Is this a bug? I searched the bugbase but after looking at 188 results did not see anything similar described there.

scurrier

Patron
Forgot to mention. I looked at the system processes after doing this and found that badblocks was still a running process. So maybe the session persisted, but not in the visual way that I expected? I thought I would still be able to see the status updates from badblocks.

I'm not sure, but I think badblocks disappeared from the system processes list while I was watching it. I can give more details on what I think I saw, if necessary.

scurrier

Patron
So should the wiki be updated to drop the current paragraph and possibly to include a mention to tmux?

Dusan

Guru
I just noticed that the FreeNAS manual states that when you reopen the web shell it will return back to the tmux session. This doesn't seem to be the case. Run "tmux attach" to reattach to the previous session.

D

dlavigne