Very slow transfer speed but ifconfig says 1000baseT <full-duplex>

Status
Not open for further replies.

josh baker

Dabbler
hello! i have been using a dell dimension 3100 as a nas for a couple of months now. Because of lack of performance I decided to buy some new hardware, H81M-HDS motherboard with GLAN a gigabit switch and 10GB of ram etc.

after installing freenas 9.2.0 i noticed that there were no performance increases at all...

I get a transfer speed of about 70MB/second for about a second but the it just keeps falling to about 7.00MB/second. (I am using CAT6 cabbles.) when booting the nas up I have a red light on the NIC indicating a gigabit connection but when the system is up and running it turns green??? I typed in ifconfig to the shell and that says:

re0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGI
C,LINKSTATE>
ether d0:50:99:14:69:5b
inet 192.168.1.66 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
inet6 fe80::d250:99ff:fe14:695b%re0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
ipfw0: flags=8801<UP,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 65536
nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>

if someone could help me out that would be great :)

Yatti420

Wizard
Need more system specs / network setup.. I would say a network problem if both boxes could start at 70 and fall.. How big is your pool?

I just looked up the mobo specs.. Why did you purchase this? It has nothing recommended ;)..

With 10GB of ram and a max of 16 in combination with a realtek lan.. You probably wont get great speeds..

josh baker

Dabbler