Upgrading from FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE to TrueNAS

Dinesh1985

Cadet
Hi Everybody,

I am in the stone age. I am a photographer and my server runs on FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE. I am not very tech-savvy in terms of servers, so a bit of patient and detailed help would be really appreciated, and thanks in advance.

So I have decided to upgrade my FreeNAS version, but I have a few worries and concerns;
  • Is it possible to upgrade from FreeNAS 9.3 Stable to TrueNAS? Cos the update screen is blank and doesn't show me any options no matter how many times I go there.
  • Any upgrade that I do, will it impact the data? Cos losing any of it is not an option. I would rather stay with 9.3 Stable
  • What are some of the possible issues that could arise from an update?
  • If something goes wrong, can I revert back to how things were?
Any other info that might be helpful are more than welcome :)

Thank you so much in advance :)

adrianwi

Guru
Some information on the server hardware might help with the replies. Also, how is 9.3 booting on your server?

Leaving things 6+ years between updates is never the best of approaches, but you probably already know that. What about a backup. I'm assuming the fact that you are a photographer and 'losing any of it is not an option' means the data is important and is backed up somewhere?

Dinesh1985

Cadet
Oh ya, I am using a USB drive to boot. Yes, I know I am way behind on updates :confused:

I do shoot RAW and JPEG. So my RAW files are sitting on the NAS and JPEGs are offsite on an SSD. My FreeNAS is on RaidZ2 with 4 identical HGST Deskstar NAS HDD drives (8TBX4).

adrianwi

Guru
I think the longest I've gone without updating is about 9-12 months, so I'm probably not the best to offer advice.

If it was my machine, I'd probably be asking in the forum too and hoping for some better advice than mine :cool: