SOLVED Upgrade Procedure

Status
Not open for further replies.

BKK

Dabbler
First off I'm not an expert user, I have limited experience so my question is probably pretty basic for those in the know.

I have 9.2 installed and would like to upgrade to 9.3. I've read the Upgrade section of the 9.3 documentation. I've gone to the Download page and I've downloaded the Freenas-9.3-release.iso.

My current installation is running off of a USB stick. Do I shutdown install the 9.3 iso on the USB stick and then boot the NAS?? This is what it says in the DOCs but I want to make sure :)

When I install the 9.3 ISO on my USB stick I assume that I'll wipe all of the existing files before putting the 9.3 ISO on it. I'm worried that I might loose some critical info so I want to be sure before I take the plunge.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Use the GUI updater with the update image. You can also boot to the image (DVD, USB or your favorite method) and do it from there.

Make sure you backup your config file. If you're using encryption, make absolutely sure that you have secured (and backed up) the various passphrases and keys.

joeschmuck

Old Man
The user manual is very unclear with respect to upgrading from 9.2.x to 9.3. I will ask for a change in the user manual.

You can do it several ways, I will give you my preference:
1) Backup your configuration file.
2) Install 9.3 to your USB flash drive (a second drive is preferred so if you run into issues you can just put back the original and be online).
3) Once you have 9.3 running and can access the GUI, restore your configuration file from 9.2.1.7 (assuming your signature is correct). Your system will reboot twice typically while it converts your old data to the new format and you should be up and running.

BKK

Dabbler
Thanks Joe.